Keep up with current happenings in

Minister Ritz Announces Reappointments to the Canadian Grain Commission

Posted On 2022-06-10 00:00:00

Ottawa, Ontario, June 10, 2022 – Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz today announced the reappointments of Jim Smolik as Assistant Chief Commissioner and Murdoch MacKay as Commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC).

"I am pleased to announce the reappointments of Jim Smolik and Murdoch MacKay to the CGC", said Minister Ritz. "Our Commissioners' leadership has been instrumental in our Government's recent actions to streamline and modernize the operations of the CGC. In the years ahead, farmers will continue to rely on their expertise in strengthening Canada's grain industry, at home and abroad."

Headquartered in Winnipeg, the CGC is the federal agency responsible for establishing and maintaining Canada's grain quality standards and regulating grain handling in Canada to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.

The CGC's key activities are quality and quantity assurance, producer protection and grain research. The CGC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

Mr. Smolik's reappointment is effective November 24, 2021 and for a term of three years and Mr. MacKay's reappointment is effective December 5, 2021 for a term of three years. Biographical notes are attached.

To learn more about the Canadian Grain Commission, please visit

For more information, media may contact:

Media Relations
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Jeff English
Press Secretary
The Office of the Honourable Gerry Ritz

Biographical Notes

Jim Smolik

Jim Smolik was appointed Assistant Commissioner of the CGC in 2007. Mr. Smolik has 35 years of experience as a grain producer. Before his appointment with the CGC in Winnipeg, he co-owned and operated his family's 3,300-acre grain farm in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. Over the course of his long career in the grains and oilseeds industry, Mr. Smolik acquired an in-depth knowledge of all areas of production, handling, transportation and marketing of grains, oilseeds and fine seeds.

Mr. Smolik's experience also includes being an active member of the British Columbia Grain Producers Association for 20 years, during which time he held the positions of President and Vice President. Mr. Smolik also represented farmers on the national level as an executive committee member of the Grain Growers of Canada and served as the organization's President and Vice President. In addition, he has sat on a wide range of government and industry committees, including the National Safety Nets Advisory Committee, the Next Generation APF Advisory Committee and as a board member of the Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance.

Murdoch MacKay

Murdoch MacKay was appointed Commissioner of the CGC in 2010. Mr. MacKay's grain industry career spans roughly 35 years, with his entry into the industry beginning with United Grain Growers (UGG) in 1979. Over the next six years at UGG, he assumed positions of increasing responsibility, becoming Vice President, Terminal Services, in 1985. Mr. MacKay served in this capacity for 20 years, including the period after the merger that created a new company, Agricore United. From 2005 to 2007, he held the position of Agricore United's Vice President of Operations. From 2007 to 2010, Mr. MacKay served as the President of Standoch International Inc., a firm specializing in management and consulting services to industry and government.

Mr. MacKay's leadership in the grain sector has also extended to chairing the Terminal Elevators Association (1995-2007), serving on the Board of Directors for Prince Rupert Grain (2001-2007), as well as serving as a member of the Western Standards Committee (1990-1997). Outside of his involvement in the agriculture industry, Mr. MacKay served on the Board of Directors of the Winnipeg Football Club (1988-2001), and is currently serving on both the Manitoba Special Olympics and the Special Olympics Canada Board of Directors.

Mr. MacKay holds two Bachelor of Arts degrees, one from Carleton University and the other from the University of Manitoba.

Share this Post!

Join the conversation

Login to post a comment